Interactive Novels and Contest Winners

Posted: April 3, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

So tonight I was pondering new projects.  See, right now, I’m in the middle of edits for Book 2 Whose Title Is Still Secret.  I’ve been dabbling a bit on writing Book 3 but I change a lot during edits, and I have a feeling most of what I write would be dependent on things NOT changing. I’m spending a lot of time brainstorming in kind of a “if this happens then this happens” kind of way, but I feel like I need something I can work on. I also want something fun, that I can dip in and out of as I have to stop and work on edits.

Enter interactive novel. It’s no secret that I love twitter.  Every once in a while, I’ll see another author ask for help writing their book.  Sometimes it’s a character name, or a title.  I once asked people what a good “pre-concert voice helping drink” was.  So I thought, why not let twitter decide what I worked on next?  I had a few story ideas I’ve been kicking around.  Then I thought, why not let everyone vote on a few details?  I hashtagged it #interactivenovel and put up for a vote whether my MC was going to be a boy or a girl.  Nearly everyone voted boy.  Not only that, people gave REASONS. Things like “there aren’t enough boys as main characters.”  Interesting, I thought and wrote boy character in my notebook.  The next thing… would it be first person or third person point of view?  Twitter told me they wanted first person.  Things kind of took off from there.  I’m going to be keeping this up, leaving the main choices up to my twitter followers.  Nothing spoilery…more like “Does he go through the door or leave?” without revealing too much about what’s going on.

Our story so far is about a boy named Denver.  He’s single, but he’s got his eye on a girl named Hannah.  The thing is, he’s not quite sure he wants to be with Hannah, because he also has his eye on Noah.  Enter complications.  Not your typical love triangle eh?  The book will open at the zoo, and at some point there will be some kind of explosion.  What’s gonna happen beyond that?

I guess we’ll all find out 🙂 If you want to be a part of this, follow me on Twitter @LeahClifford and keep an eye out for the #interactivenovel hashtag!

Which brings us to the reason you’re probably here!  CONTEST WINNERS!!!

Dude. You guys blow me away.  I mean, I thought there’d be a good amount of entries, maybe a few people would do a vlog or something.  All told, there were 177 comments. COMMENTS. Most of those comments had multiple entries (tweets and FB status).  I had vlogs and flyers and a haiku.  Someone wrote me a song.  Can I just say how much I love you guys???

The winner of the copy with the extra content did something super cool!  You can check it out here!

The winners:  I used the random number generator and picked my five winners.  They each receive a signed copy of A Touch Mortal, a signed copy of one of the following (Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton, Afterlife by Claudia Gray, Desires of the Dead by Kimberly Derting, The DUFF by Kody Keplinger, and a secret book that will be signed). There will also be Assorted Awesome in the box! Winners: send your mailing address to LeahCliffordBooks at gmail dot com with the five books above in order of preference (ie: 1. Angelfire 2. Desires of the Dead 3. Mystery book …ect). Winner #1 gets first choice, winner #2 gets their first choice unless #1 picked it in which case they get their 2nd choice and so on…

The winners are:

1. Michaele Stoughton (@MLStoughton)

2. Flippin Fabulous who posted in her sidebar at http://areadersrecord.blogspot.com

3. Cynthia Garcia (via Facebook status)

4. Emmy Landeros (@Emmy322)

5. Kari (@flamingo1325)

In addition to that, I gave away an extra copy to Angela on facebook. She made a sign for her car, which was pretty cool, but THEN she got pulled over. The cop tried to give her a ticket and told her she shouldn’t be making people read while they’re driving.  He thought the sign was a joke and when she explained that she was trying to win signed books, Cop told her he’d sign them. Angela, in complete badassery told him that wasn’t the same. WIN.

Congrats to the winners and thanks to everyone who entered and spread the word!  If you didn’t win, don’t be sad! Amazon and B & N have dropped the price of A Touch Mortal to $9.99 which is pretty awesome!  Go snag a copy and let me know what you think!

Comments
  1. Ashley S says:

    Hahaha I can’t believe she got pulled over by a cop! I wonder what he was thinking while she was explaining the sign… 🙂

    That wedding announcement post was adorable. Such a creative entry. Congrats winners!

  2. I freakin’ LOVE the wedding announcements!

  3. Cynthia Garcia says:

    Thank you so much!!! That wedding announcement is awesome.

    Angela I tip my hat to you!!! And pffft to that cop.

Leave a Reply

