Blog Chain – Getting Out of a Funk

Posted: January 18, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags:

It’s Blog Chain Time again, and this time the topic was picked by Elana.  The question was When you’re in a pool of writing funk, how do you get out?

Basically, when you’re bummed and your writing isn’t going as planned, what do you do to get out of it?  Personally, I’m a ponderer.  I’ll throw some tracks on repeat and zone out.  Sometimes it lasts for a few minutes, other times it lasts for days.  I’ve found that by just clearing my mind and not focusing on the problem, a solution usually comes to me in some way, shape or form.  For a long time while writing Reapers I was really unsure of one of my character’s motivations.  I knew this person was important, I just wasn’t sure how so I kept typing away, not quite knowing what the deal was but making progress. When a song I’d downloaded randomly (I liked other songs by the band) came on, everything snapped into focus and I was able to keep writing.  Sometimes, it’s not that easy, and when the rejections get to be a bit much, and the story’s not flowing, sometimes the best thing to do is something else.  That’s right.  See, there’s a whole world that I sometimes forget about, one that goes on with or without me.  It’s called Real Life.  In it are my family, who’s phonecalls cheer me up (Sorry, Elana, but when I’m bumming I totally call my mom πŸ˜‰  ) and my very patient friends, who are usually game for a movie or dinner.  Sure, it’s not as exciting as torturing my characters, but sometimes excitement is overrated. 

Now, I’m not sure how this will help you.  See, everyone is different.  You’ve gotta figure out what works for you, and what doesn’t.  That’s part of becoming a stronger writer. 

Elana also requested that we post our favorite funny thing that makes us happy.  For getting out of a bad mood?  For writing? I’m not entirely sure.  The only thing I do know is that most of my favorite quotes, poems, and Youtube videos have made various blog chains in the past.  Last one in my arsenal is
Alright, kiddies! Next up in the chain is Heather!

Comments
  1. edgyauthor says:

    Distracting myself from writing helps get me out of the funk, too. Even just stepping aside to take a shower will shut off my mind long enough to spark inspiration (but then I’m all wet and drippy while trying to get to my laptop…not a good thing, heh.)

  2. marvad says:

    I’m a master of deflection. If I’m not in the groove writing, then I can find a ton of stupid things to do. Blog, read others’ blogs, check out YouTube, vacuum…
    If I’m down and feeling blue, however, this always makes me smile:
    http://svt.se/hogafflahage/hogafflaHage_site/Kor/hestekor.swf
    Click on the horses and listen.

  3. elanajohnson says:

    Great post Leah! It’s totally okay to talk to your mom! LOL! I just didn’t want that to be your ONLY response to how you feel better. Music is a great way to get out of the pool.
    And I’ve never laughed so hard at a youtube video! Thanks for that!

  4. elknutswife says:

    Ahhh, a great ponder session always works wonders for me too πŸ™‚ You are so right, sometimes it really helps to just step back from a problem and think about something else. Great post and love the video!!!

  5. doortoriver says:

    Oh. My. Word.
    This is made of SO MUCH WIN.

  6. smua says:

    Real Life is important; it helps keeps you balanced. Balance is good for keeping out of the funk pool in the first place.

  7. abbyannerose says:

    I totally know what you mean wit the music. It helps me a lot too. Sometimes something in a song can totally clear writers block and the like. I also sometimes try doing something else. It helps when things are getting you down.
    That video, by the way, was brilliant.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Oh my goodness that youtube video was totally awesome and wonderful!
    I also agree that part of becoming a stronger writer is figuring out what you need to do to climb out of the funk.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Getting your mind out of the problem is an excellent strategy. You never know where that inspiration is going to come from, like the song that gave you the boost to get back in the groove. Nice post. Sequel time yet?

    • leahclifford says:

      I’m feeling the rumblings of the sequel…still pondering a bit. I’m at that point on the roller coaster where the car is hanging over the edge, but hasn’t QUITE made it far enough over to start the rush of the ride. Soon though…

  10. Anonymous says:

    Music can do that for me, too. Sometimes it’s even something I’ve listened to a hundred times, but I need some inspiration and a track surprisingly does it for me. And it’s not always the lyrics; sometimes I just have to put the track on repeat and go on the energy I’m getting for as long as I can.

Leave a Reply

