Blog it out, Emo Kid!

Posted: November 20, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Back on the blog chain, Kiddies!   Did you perhaps come here from Terri’s blog?  Are you perhaps headed to Mary’s blog (after reading mine of course)? I’m really excited about this one!  Michelle started it out and so picked the topic which was…

Share a favorite poem, quote, joke, anecdote, or anything of the sort that deals with writing, writers, the publishing industry, or the other strange and unusual tidbits that belong to our little world.

Yay linkspam!!!! Yay for being early so no one stole used this yet!

which is hysterical and pretty much how my stories get written! 

And here’s a link to part of an interview with Bob Moresco who wrote the script for the movie Crash…he’s got some great advice for overcoming writer’s block.

Then there’s the obligatory John Green writing thing, in which John proves himself as awesome as I could ever hope to be with his writing group and shows his brother (and us) a day in the life of a writer.  (sidenote…I can’t help but picture a group of my QT writer friends having pretty much this same convo…and I KNOW I’ve had many many many many of these with the (ex) Roomie)

And saving the best for last… In honor of commencing the rewrite of doom for Reapers here’s a great link to Jackson Pearce’s vlog entry: Revising Is Cake

Sorry this is all videos, but I promise they’re all well worth it!!! And for those of you who can’t watch the videos or don’t want to, I offer up only one quote.  I keep it on my closet door across from my bed so it’s the first thing I see when I wake up and the last thing I see before I fall asleep.  Unfortunately, it’s attributed to pretty much everyone, so I can’t give proper credit.

..forgive me for going all deep on you, but it’s the best quote I’ve found for writing in a long time, even if it’s not supposed to be. 

"It’s the silence between the notes that makes the music."

Comments
  1. doortoriver says:

    I HAVE LOVED THAT VIDEO FOREVER. Such brilliance. πŸ˜„

  2. elknutswife says:

    Holy crap, those were freakin AWESOME! I was laughing my butt off the whole time – and it’s even funnier because they were all so true! I seriously have had conversations like that first video – and John’s Day in the Life of a Writer was just too good. Man, the conversations we can get in to…. LOL broken up, of course, by long periods of eyes on screen and fingers on keys πŸ˜€
    And seriously excellent quote. I’m printing that one out! Wonderful post, GG – LOVED IT! (and I’m glad you liked this topic πŸ˜€ One less person on the “Lynch Michelle” list πŸ˜€ )

  3. hldyer says:

    I’ve always loved that last quote. Awesome post, Leah!

  4. elanajohnson says:

    I loved all those videos! I had no idea John Greene was so young! And to be able to hang out with SW! Holy crap! That was awesome! Thanks for sharing, Leah! No wonder I nominated you for the “I *heart* your blog” award! πŸ˜€

  5. That video is the best thing ever.
    Also, I love that quote about the music. I feel that way about…well, music. πŸ˜„
    anyway, you rock.

  6. smua says:

    I think Neil Simon didn’t have the Internet at his desk; otherwise he’d know there are plenty of distractions there too. Plus, sometimes I do get ideas when I’m in the middle of something else.

  7. katekquinn says:

    I am not usually a big youtube fan, but those links were all totally worth watching! Except that now I am jealous that I don’t have a group of friends to sit around and write with, and I also have an insane cake craving – but otherwise totally awesome!

  8. libbyreed says:

    Those guys were hysterical…I’m still laughing!
    And the cake revision…it is so true. Revising is like making a cake. She has 12 of them in her kitchen and when she finishes eating them, she’ll be sick too…just like the stomach ache you get when you are revising.
    Abi
    http://bloggingexperiments.wordpress.com

  9. libbyreed says:

    Happy Thanksgiving — Hope it’s gobblicious!
    Abi
    http://bloggingexperiments.wordpress.com
    geesh…I wish you’d enable Open ID. πŸ™‚

  10. Anonymous says:

    Love that first video! reminds me so much of the crazy brain storming that I’ve had in the past!
    πŸ™‚ Terri

  11. That quote is SO you. Perfect!!

Leave a Reply

