The Crazy in our House…

Posted: October 15, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

So, in reading over the Blog chain post about quirks I did, I realized in my frantic posting while trying to finish Reapers that I didn’t go into my full crazy.  Jess was a little paranoid that she was worse than everyone else, so this is for her.  You are NOT alone, QB!

Everyone’s a little crazy.  There are quirks everyone hides from the public.  But in the interest of honesty, I’m airing my dirty laundy. 

Writing quirks, I haz them.  Cleaning quirks, my roomie haz them.  Heather has been my best friend since about 6th grade or so, and has been there for me through everything since. That being said, I think we were both a little nervous about living together.  See, Heather and I are on opposite ends of the cleaning spectrum.  This has been an interesting adjustment for both of us.

It has bonuses.  I apparently have a self cleaning desk.  This morning I woke up and made my way downstairs.  Last night, there were 2 empty Sprite bottles, a coffee cup, possibly a few candy wrappers, two notebooks with To Do lists and agent notes on them, headphones and a paper plate on my desk.  It is a small desk.  It was veering steadily into the Cluttered column.  But sometime between 2am last night and 9 am this morning, the Self Cleaning Desk completed its scan.  It is trash free, the mouse lined up perfectly, the notebooks organized and all in their drawers.  The headphones had been unplugged. The cord wrapped around them, not hanging off the side.  I have this vision of the Self Cleaning Desk being kind of like the virus sweep the computer does while I sleep.  Sometime after the witching hour, while I’m dreaming of zombie apocolypses with a smile, the computer takes away all the evil parts of my files and restarts, only to come back shiny and perfect.  I thought maybe we’d inherited some kind of Desk Fairies who operated under the same principal and enjoyed the spoils.

Then, I found my laundry.  It was hanging, on HANGERS.  My clothes were no doubt thrown into a tizzy over this… my shirts, they know OF hangers, but so seldom reach that point that hangers are like the Yeti of the clothing world…seldom seen, but widely rumored to exist.  Knowing someone went through your t-shirts is one thing, but undies?  Without notice?!!  I was a bit…offput.  Clearly there were things to be discussed…..but….my work clothes were clean…and I had socks too.  And being as I’d been up late writing, this was kind of nice.  Hmmm….

Then  I found my case of 7up had gone missing.  I feared for its temperature.  See, if you’ve read my last post you know I like my soda warm.  It took some investigating but there it was, stored out of sight and efficiently on the counter.  Still warm.  JUST HOW I LIKE IT. 

This was the moment that I decided I could deal with her quirks ( I know, I’m so selfsacrificing right?).  Heather’s the type who will do all of your dishes because they bother her and then apologize for doing them.  She’s great.  She is the action behind all of my crazy home improvement plans.  Things get DONE because of her, while with me they would get put off until next year.  She is a good kind of crazy.

Then there’s me.  The dark half of the spectrum….which you will be getting later.  Dad came over for an unexpected visit and we got to talking so I have some catching up to do with the writing! 

Comments
  1. dina_james says:

    Then I found my case of 7up had gone missing. I feared for its temperature. See, if you’ve read my last post you know I like my soda warm. It took some investigating but there it was, stored out of sight and efficiently on the counter. Still warm. JUST HOW I LIKE IT.
    Now see, if you drank it warm and FLAT like I do, there would be no confusion as to who it belonged to. *evil grin*

  2. You are the best QB ever!! You know what this means right?? More gifts o’ the mailbox. 🙂

  3. helloalena says:

    I am definatly quirky!!

  4. elanajohnson says:

    I meant to reply to your last reply about the soda…but I can do it here. Warm. Okay, fine. I guess I can handle that. I mean, it’s not like I have to drink it. 😉 I love the self-cleaning desk. I need to get me one of those!

  5. psykikbunny says:

    I would love to have a self cleaning desk. I tidied it last week (i.e. put everything in big piles – which is the same as cleaning right?) and it is already cluttered as hell again.
    I’ve found with some of my past housemates that you just have to be a bit careful not to take advantage of them being tidy. Otherwise, they may eventually resent always having to clean up after you.

Leave a Reply

