Distrackshuns…I haz them.

Posted: September 25, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Leah’s Writing Schedule Tonight

6:45 pm –  Thoughts start to center around the Must Get Home chant, itchiness to start editing and get to the actual "writing" part of the finale is at a level 7.  Stare at clock.  Ponder possible endings.  Discard all.  Ponder the possibility of actually using Legionfalcon’s patented "Rocks fall. Everyone dies." all loose ends tied up approach.  Stop giving residents coffee in an effort to get them to go away.

 

7:30pm – Supposed to be out of work.  Glance frantically at clock, then at the tables still left to wipe down.  There are many.  Dishwasher comes out and tells me she hopes I brought my sleeping bag. All I want to do is get to my edits.  I live to edit.

7:35 pm – Curse rag for leaving swipey marks on the glass table tops.  Yearn for editing time.

7:36 pm – Curse residents for touching glass table tops.  Pine for editing time.

7:37 pm – Curse self for not doing dishes instead because that chick is TOO. DAMN. SLOW. Need story NOW!!!!

7:38 pm – Decide to quit job and live in back of deluxe SUV. Ponder fun ways to give my notice involving ice, crickets and jello.

7:40 pm – Realize deluxe SUV does not have internet connection. Rethink quiting.  Decide job is not so bad.

7:50 pm – Rethink rethinking job.  HATE JOB.  HATE WORLD.  Glare at damn dishwasher turtle woman. 

7:52 pm – Use time wisely by pondering how Eden would handle this…swipe dishwashers hand with mine while passing a plate and pretend I’m passing Touch.  Feel better.

8:00 pm – Hop in deluxe SUV, pop in Reapers soundtrack and throw song for the night on repeat to get in the "mood".  Squee over starting edits!!!!!  SOOOOON!!!!!

8:25 – 9:00 pm – Catch up with roomies and reexplain the "Leah is editing" clause of the lease.  They assure me there will be no distractions unless someone is dying.

9:00-9:05 pm – Myspace

9:05-9:10 pm – Lolcatsloldogslolcelebrities….failblog

9:10 pm – Heather comes down and asks if I want to go with her to check mouse traps in shed.  Decide this falls under the dying clause.  Check traps.  Mice have licked all of the peanut butter off the traps without tripping them.  Smoke with Heather.  Come up with ingenious plan to rubberband cheese to the traps.  Feel like a genius. Smoke again to celebrate. Reiterate how important Non-distraction clause is. 

10:00 pm – Check Querytracker and Rallystorm again just to make sure no one posted while I was gone. Put song of the night on repeat.

10:10 pm – Livejournal (what? It’s networking!).  Remind myself how if I get a book deal I can quit stupid job and buy Big Ass Mouse Traps.

10:15 pm – Stare at page.  Check to make sure I’ve checked all links that I need to keep up on.  Check Lolcatz again.

10:16 pm – Remember someone mentioning how I used to do lists on QT! WOOT!  Distraction!!!!!!!!!!

10:30 pm – Post to forum.

10:34 pm – Realize I can crosspost to Livejournal. 

10:35 pm – Smoke break…

 

Comments
  1. brimfire says:

    LOL. Seriously, you crack me up. Tomorrow’s another day, right?
    P.S. I have 50 pages to edit until I’m done (for now). Ha! πŸ™‚

  2. erinsaar says:

    Disneyland!!!!
    Another distraction, but a fun one. It’s open until midnight when we’re there!!!! Woohoo

  3. elanajohnson says:

    It’s funnier here! I have four minutes until I’m seriously going to edit. Really, I am. Really, really.

  4. Well, I said I was going to write all afternoon…it’s now 11:42 and I haven’t even caught up on my handwritten stuff…I actually went to an entire party to procrastinate. But I’m going now. Seriously. Climax, fear me.

  5. katekquinn says:

    LMAO!
    Um, so it would be okay if I stole this blog posting and put it on my own blog as my own, right? Because you clearly stole the story of my life in posting it. Sure, sure some pertinent details are a bit different – you wipe tables, I wipe a baby’s butt – everything else though – from the “if I wasn’t doing this BS I would totally be writing,” to the “okay, now I should be writing, but I’m not because of a, b, c, and then a again” – is the sad sad story of my own life. I would write more explaining this phenomenon, but it’s been five minutes since I last checked my email, so…

  6. fandoria says:

    LOL This is funny. Even more so because I am SO guilty of it myself.

  7. doortoriver says:

    Lolcats…loldogs…lolcelebrities….failblog.
    I know that cycle aaaall too well. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

