The Neighbor Phenomenon

Posted: September 16, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

With the power outage due to Ike’s last ragings the other day, we had a serious lack of internet.  And light.  And foodstuffs.  Luckily, I was smart and had decided to keep my alcohal in the fridge.  Roomies were not so, and they were lucky that I was feeling sharey.  Honestly though, it’s not fun drinking alone and when you’re from small town Ohio and EVERYTHING modern is dead drinking is pretty much all there is to do. 

So we drank.  My Cousin Roommate introduced me to a new drink.  Basically, it’s the size of a tallboy and tastes a bit like crushed up smarties…you know, that energy drink taste? But this is not like other alcohal.  I can only drink TWO of them before I’m sloshed and I’m not a lightweight or anything…

Anywho.  So we’re all getting a bit tipsy (me, cousin roommate and friend roommate) and I notice the neighbor boys out in their garage.  The neighbor boys are interesting.  I had wanted to meet them for awhile but didn’t quite know how.  Our interactions had consisted of and exchange of  "Hey".  They’re not like, hot neighbor boy types….they’re like 17ish.  And they’re cool.  I like their music and their fun conversations on their back porch.  Right now you’re probably thinking I’m a weirdo, but see, I have to go outside to smoke and so do they.  For awhile our smoke breaks were matching up.  And I’m nosey. 

So, Drunk Leah decides now is a good time to wander over and say hello. 

The garage was full of 5 kids, all me in highschool types, with an added Emo spice.  I basically said something rambley about power outtages and drinking and such.  We chatted about Psycho Neighbor who lives on the other side of me.  At one point I asked how old they were and one of the little shits grinned at me and said "Old enough."  I hit him back with "If you have to say old enough, chances are you’re not, Kid".  This got a long OOOOOOOOOOOhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! from the others.  I smiled for a second, thinking Damn I’m cool.  And then I realized…I’m old. 

Ok, tangent…back on focus.  So what is it with storms and epic crazy that brings together neighbors?  I’ve lived here since the begining of August and hadn’t introduced myself.  I was starting to feel really bad about that.  But it seems like everyone’s blogs mention that they hung out with their neighbors this week.  So I was just wondering why?  Why did you wait until badness struck to hang out/chat with the people who live next to you? Is this part of the whole modern isolation thing?  Just curious…

Comments
  1. doortoriver says:

    I think the “modern” thing has a lot to do with it, but not so much isolation as business. I know I don’t have spare time to go across and meet the neighbors, and I doubt I’m alone.

  2. brimfire says:

    “At one point I asked how old they were and one of the little shits grinned at me and said “Old enough.” I hit him back with “If you have to say old enough, chances are you’re not, Kid”. This got a long OOOOOOOOOOOhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! from the others. I smiled for a second, thinking Damn I’m cool. And then I realized…I’m old.”
    LOL. Me too on the old thing. It reminds me of thhe other day when I was looking at pics of the Twilight cast. I’ve had this reader-crush on Jacob, not Edward. When I looked at the actor’s pics on-line I just about choked. The boy is, like, 12! Now I feel all weird about reading those books. *shiver*

  3. elknutswife says:

    Laughing my butt off, seriously 😀

  4. elanajohnson says:

    I laughed so hard, one of those laughs where you’re glad you weren’t eating or drinking at the time. Seriously. Gotta love neighbors, especially the teenage variety. 🙂

Leave a Reply

