The days since I’ve updated guilted into posting post…

Posted: September 6, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I r tired.  I r tired lots.  Sigh.  I’m still editing, and making progress, but honestly I’m just totally procrastinating on the ending.  See, my first book was written in feverish hivey spurts.  This one has had a serious lack of hive and I actually, yanno, LIKED writing it.  But my last book was a flop, due to my ending having a major case of teh suck.  I knew it had teh suck.  I tried to fix it.  I changed it a lot.  Like to the point where I’d tell someone I was changing the ending and all I was getting in return were a series of groans.  I was never happy with it.  Agents were not either.  I had a decent request rate.  The ending just…sucked.  Which I’m fine with.  That story was more therapy than anything else.  And it was the story I wrote to PROVE I could write a book. 

But this one is different.  This one has THE ONE in big shiny neon flashies.  They were not put there by me.  They were put there by people that heard what it was about and were eager to read it from the first few thousand words. They were, in other words, put there by people who rock.  People who I’m afraid to let down. 

I fear the ending.  I fear when I get there it will not be made of win. 

Comments
  1. fandoria says:

    But my last book was a flop, due to my ending having a major case of teh suck. I knew it had teh suck. I tried to fix it. I changed it a lot. Like to the point where I’d tell someone I was changing the ending and all I was getting in return were a series of groans. I was never happy with it.
    That sounds like me and my beginning. But I’ve finally got a beginning I’m very happy with.
    Good luck with getting an ending you love.

  2. kaz_mahoney says:

    I know you’ll do it justice, this time. Just remember to breathe and don’t let past experience – or that fear of letting people down – get in the way.
    This book is a whole new story – literally. You start afresh with each book you write. Good luck! 🙂

  3. lefalcone says:

    Try not to think too much about the ending. Just keep writing and writing and before you know it, you’ll be done.

  4. Who says your book has to have an ending? When you get to the part you’re stuck on, just put the words ‘INSERT YOUR OWN ENDING OF CHOICE HERE.’ You’ll be a trend-setta!

  5. doortoriver says:

    It may still be THE one! Have you considered joining http://sff.onlinewritingworkshop.com ? I’ve found it to be incredibly helpful. It took a book I was beginning to think could never be fixed and helped me revamp it.

  6. elanajohnson says:

    I totally get it!
    I totally agree GG! I do fine at the beginning, even the middle, but it’s always the end that is sucky. Always. I have no idea how to write that part of the novel. I know mine aren’t made of the right stuff either. You’ll get this one though. Really, really. 🙂

Leave a Reply

