Observations aka Coffee Addled After Midnight Thoughts While Avoiding the WIP

Posted: June 4, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I like friends.  Who doesn’t?  I signed up for the livejournal so that I could do some networking, and hopefully help other people network.  (Okay, plus I’m nosy and each one is like a little window into another world…) But I refuse to just add people indiscriminately.  Instead, I have really weird reasons for adding different people.  One girl I added because her avatar was Sarah from Labyrinth and that’s one of my favorite movies.  Another guy was on quite a few of the livejournals I went to, so I figured we had a lot of things in common and his journal was a blast to read.  I always check peoples friends lists to see if there’s anyone on there.  I don’t read them all, it’s pretty random.  And I definitely don’t add them all. 

But here’s the thing I noticed.  Most of the normal names are taken.  I didn’t realize how lucky I was when I signed up and got my own name without a string of numbers after it.  And people have embraced the creative when it comes to getting a user name.  Tonight I starting thinking, a lot of the names on here remind me of race horses.  That made me laugh, but it’s true isn’t it?  Picture it… *race announcer voice chinashopdilly is rounding the bend on the heels of surefiretantrum… giggletwotimes has taken the lead but OH!!! OHH!!!!!!  Biddybiddybumba is pulling ahead!  Biddybiddybumba has passed Jackofalltrads (a rock climbing blog perhaps?) to take the lead!!!

See? Ok, I made those up…at least I did here…they probably exist.  And I’ll give you one guess as to who’s gonna go find out as soon as this is posted! 🙂 (note: if they are real, I’m not going to link them because they might take offense that I just compared them to a horse 😛  but I MAY friend them…)

On another note, I’ve been filling in the location thing with funny little things, and just noticed that google tries to map them.  I now consider this a challenge.  It’s SO on google!  Good luck with this one!

Comments
  1. LOl. Well, I’m happy to be your friend and thanks for adding me! 😉

  2. tezmilleroz says:

    Big hello to you 🙂 I’m not sure how you found me, but we have some mutual friends here at LJ. Feel free to be nosy anytime.
    Anyway, my user name goes back to Gmail. Apparently my name was already taken (what the feckington?), so I added “Oz” at the end, to signify that I’m Australian. So for consistency’s sake, most of my various profiles have Oz, too. Think the only one that doesn’t might be Bebo, but I don’t really use Bebo anyhoo.
    See you soon, and have a lovely day! 🙂

    • leahclifford says:

      Glad to have you! Most likely it was one of those (many!) mutual friends…small world huh? All of the connections and networking on here is just fascinating to me!

Leave a Reply

