Danse Macabre…

Posted: June 2, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Music fuels damn near ever word of what I write.  If I can’t find the perfect song, I can’t write the scene…it’s just what I do.  When I start a novel, I spend the first few days, before the idea has really solidified, getting a playlist together.  I LOVE playlist day.  Mostly because I love finding new music.  So I figured I’d share some of what I found while writing the Reapers story.  I spent a long time mulling over the perfect song for each character….. I hope you like it!  I hope you hear something you haven’t heard before and it changes you the way these songs have changed me!
Here they are in no particular order….

Eden: Glittering Clouds by Imogen Heap – this song captured Eden for me in so many ways.  I found it on day one and it snapped her into focus for me, from the way she sees herself and the way Touch affects her.

Adam: Famous Last Words by My Chemical Romance – Adam clearly has a thing for Eden, but he’s stayed silent for so long that it’s hard for her to move him from the “just friends” category…He knows even if she doesn’t see him that way that he’ll always be there for her.  I think he’s as confused as anyone when she decides to give it a shot…

Gabe: Church of Hot Addiction by Cobra Starship – Oddly enough I just pictured this song fitting Gabe, dancing in a club covered in glitter and strobelights and spinning like a mad man.  I had it on repeat for weeks before I realized the singer was saying “Toniiiiiight!!!!  G.A.B.E. gonna get you high!” Wow! How’s that for a lucky break! (Yea, it’s actually quite obvious…I just go into a fugue when I’m listening lol)

Jarrod: My Violent Heart (Battenhouse Remix) by NIN –  Jarrod is so jaded…he doesn’t see the point to any of it, and doubts there is one.  His only consolation is that others are weaker than him.  He’s trying to find some shred of control over things, floundering to find his place. (The visuals in this are more perfect than I could have ever hoped for…)

Az: Furious Angels by Rob Dougan – Ugh…this one was SO hard to narrow down to one song.  I finally settled on this song because a. The desperation Az feels comes across in it, and also his feeling that Gabe has his back.  Plus, I love the video!

Luke:  Slept So Long (The live Queen of the Damned Version) – Stuart Townsend is my visual for Luke…that sexy twisty darkness.  If Dawn’s Supernova ever played live this is how I picture it.  Luke, he just OOZES cocky rock star.  And the lyrics!  (Touching you makes me die inside…)

Kristen: The Art of Suicide by Emilie Autumn – Oh my adorable Kristen.  With her quirky habit of pwning with poetry and her penchant for dressing in stolen burial outfits.  She was supposed to have a bit part, but wouldn’t have it that way.  She commands the scenes she’s in.  If this book gets agented/sold I’d love to do her story as a companion book/sequel. 
Libby: I can’t put my Libby song on here, because it’s spoilery to the nth degree, so I’ll go with an extra Eden song instead.  Heads Will Roll by Marion Raven.  LOVE this song!!! I’m posting the clean version, but it’s still pretty dirty so consider yourself warned!! It’s also very worth it because the song kicks ass!

Wow.  I totally went overboard 🙂  Anyway, hope you like the music…. If you know anything you think I’d like or that you are digging right now please let me know in the comments!

Comments
  1. cristiaentel says:

    One day when I’m not on a Dial Up connection I’ll give them a listen.
    I’ve never really put a song to certain chars ( just Cristia but that was happenstance). If I get in the zone the music goes away. Though I use instrumental songs for scenes (most of the time, at least.)
    -V

  2. cristiaentel says:

    it wouldn’t post from hotmail or at least I think it didn’t.
    Anyway,
    I listen to symphonic gothic metal – that’s what winamp calls it. It’s a metal band with a female lead that has an opreaish voice.
    Epica ( this is my all time fav. band)
    Nightwish (Dark Passion Play has a new female lead so be sure to look up older Nightwish also)
    I strongly recommend Within Temptation.
    Leaves’ Eyes is another good one
    The same singer is in Theater of Tragedy their older stuff is best, When he falleth & As Shadows Dance
    I do listen to instrumentals but it’s got to be powerful. I stick to songs from movie soundtracks usually. Epica does lot of good instrumentals and so does Cradle of Filth.
    It’s a very acquired taste cause it blends a beautiful female voice with a raw male metal voice and kick but melodies. Great for writing.
    I used to be a big metal head and now I listen to Simone Simmons (Epica), go figure.
    🙂
    Hope you hear something you like.

    • leahclifford says:

      Runs off to check youtube… *SQUEE! NEW MUSIC!
      Roomie is big into WT, but I’m pretty touch and go…(he has Nightwish too) but the others are all new! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

