Sticky Tack

Posted: May 16, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags:

I know what needs to happen next in the three scenes I’m currently working on.  I have another scene slowly percolating in my brain, drips of phrases and actions slowly making their way through the filter.  There are tons of things I could be, SHOULD be writing.  But my fingers won’t work.  The words are stuck somewhere behind my eyes and refuse to come down. 

I’ve had writer’s block before, where I didn’t know what happened next, or the other kind, where I knew I was on the wrong path and had to backtrack.  But this is strange and foreign and I don’t understand.  Everything is right there.  I can see it.  But it’s…not.  I’ve tried giving it a few days, but I’m pretty impatient in a normal setting, let alone knowing what I’m going to write.  It’s been almost a weeks!  I feel like I’m paralyzed, staring down at my legs and yelling “MOVE!” while they just lay there.  I know the key is to NOT think about it, but it’s kind of a Polar Bear in a Snowstorm.  (go ahead.  Try not to think of a polar bear in a snowstorm right now…)  Anyone have any tips on how to break this?

Comments
  1. Ahhh {{{hugs}}} Sorry to hear you’re between a rock and a hard place.
    Here’s my .015 cents. Since you KNOW you aren’t being productive, drink a suitable amount of your favourite alcoholic beverage and start typing- with full knowledge that you may be wasting your time (hey! beats wallowing whilst staring at the keyboard!). Then, in the morning, you just might discover that you’ve broken though that invisible barrier, and, perhaps, that what you’ve written in a drunken stupor isn’t really all that bad with a little editing.
    If anything, it gets the mind flowing without the usual inhibitions of not living up to par, when you’ve given yourself the freedom to goof around.
    You can always delete it if it’s no good, and no one will be the wiser.
    😉
    Emsky

Leave a Reply

