Posted: April 22, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

My brother goes to a community college across the street from my apartment.  Being the king of ….well, something….he’s packed all of his classes into two days and only has to go from 9-9 Tuesdays and Thursdays.  Since I live so near, we’ve been doing lunch during his two hour breaks most afternoons since he started.  While I was a bit put out at first, (hey! that’s the middle of prime writing time!) I quickly realized I’d started to look forward to our little brother sister bonding time. 

Me and Brother are 6 years apart, and were never really that close growing up.  I have a sister who’s 2 1/2 years younger than me, and it was always kind of them against me from my point of view.  Not to mention that I moved to Colorado during his high school years.  Even though I moved back over three years ago, there was a rift there that never quite managed to get bridged. 

I missed his most important moments.  I wasn’t there for his first homecoming, and I didn’t get to see him grow into the adult his is today.  He’s gone from the little bastard that chased me down the street and threw a cup of pee at me (yes, really) to a well spoken twenty year old with a head on his shoulders ten times more disciplined than I ever hoped to be at that age. 

I’ve really enjoyed getting to know him over the past few months, and have come to find out we actually have a lot in common.  We both have an appreciation for spontaneous adventures that we haven’t found in others, and a love of outdoors and nature. 

Today was absolutely  beautiful, and so we decided to go on a hike for his two hour lunch break.  I stopped by Mom’s with the intention of kidnapping the dog and convinced her to come too, which was a bonus.  It was really beautiful out, and I stopped at the store on the way and picked up some batteries for my camera (I’ve been meaning to do this for about three months, so I was already feeling quite accomplished).  We passed the afternoon enjoying the sunshine, Mom and Brother walking the dog and me trailing behind taking photos.  When I got home, I had a few good shots that I played with…thought I’d share our day.

Me, Brother and Koda

Mom and Brother’s happy moment…she was actually telling him he was being a jerk. Yay for the silence of pictures!

Me and a very happy dog.  He loves me best, because I come and pick him up and take him on walks.  I look kinda goofy, because it was super sunny…

When we got home I messed around with some of the pictures I took.  This is the river under the bridge we go over…

Also, there are old slowly disintegrating railroad trellises.  I love finding things like this, the old life trapped and slowly fading into the new.  I think it’s part of why I loved Colorado so much…

So there you go, blog readers! (I was trying to come up with a creative way to combine those two, but I hit breeders first and couldn’t quite get past my giggle fit.  Yes, I’m mentally five right now.  Or maybe eight…do five year olds know about breeding? )  I figured since we’ve been on a few dates it was time to introduce you to my family…

We’ll see how the writing goes tonight.  I tend to do much better when I have a productive morning, so maybe I can get past some of my leftover blocks and get a new scene or two done. 

Progress on the reapers story so far: 45,473 words
Starbucks mocha frappuccinos consumed today: only one!  (I’m broke)

Leave a Reply

